Star Magazine logo

STAR Pays for Scoops!

Button which opens 'Send us a scoop' formClick here!

or call (800) 609-8312

Taylor Swift & Newbie Kacey Musgraves Top CMA Awards Nominations List

Taylor Swift

Sheryl Crow and Florida Georgia Line announced the nominees for the 2013 CMA Awards…and unsurprisingly, Taylor Swift led the pack with a total of six nominations. However, she wasn’t the only young female topping the list — newbie Kacey Musgraves also scored six nods.

Country couple Blake Shelton and Miranda Lambert also got some major recognition, with Blake racking up five nominations, and Miranda totaling three solo nods and two for her band Pistol Annies.

The CMA Awards are (once again) hosted by Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley, and will air on ABC Nov. 6 at 8 p.m. Check out the full list of nominees.

Entertainer of the Year

Taylor Swift

Jason Aldean

Luke Bryan

George Strait

Blake Shelton

(Previous Winner: Blake Shelton)


Single of the Year

“Cruise” – Florida Georgia Line

“Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw feat. Taylor Swift & Keith Urban

“Merry Go Round” – Kacey Musgraves

“Mama’s Broken Heart” – Miranda Lambert

“Wagon Wheel” – Darius Rucker

(Previous Winner: “Pontoon” – Little Big Town)


Album of the Year

Based on a True Story – Blake Shelton

Blown Away – Carrie Underwood

Red – Taylor Swift

Same Trailer, Different Park – Kacey Musgraves

Tornado – Little Big Town

(Previous Winner: Chief – Eric Church)


Song of the Year (awarded to songwriters)

“I Drive Your Truck” – Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, Jimmy Yeary

“Mama’s Broken Heart” – Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves

“Merry Go Round” – Kacey Musgraves, Josh Osborne, Shane McAnally

“Pontoon” – Natalie Hemby, Luke Laird, Barry Dean

“Wagon Wheel” – Bob Dylan, Ketch Secor

(Previous Winner: “Over You” – Blake Shelton, Miranda Lambert)


Female Vocalist of the Year

Kelly Clarkson

Miranda Lambert

Kacey Musgraves

Taylor Swift

Carrie Underwood

(Previous Winner: Miranda Lambert)


Male Vocalist of the Year

Blake Shelton

Jason Aldean

Luke Bryan

Eric Church

Keith Urban

(Previous Winner: Blake Shelton)


Vocal Group of the Year

The Eli Young Band

Little Big Town

Lady Antebellum

Zac Brown Band

The Band Perry

(Previous Winner: Little Big Town)


Vocal Duo of the Year

Big and Rich

Florida Georgia Line

Love and Theft


The Civil Wars

Thompson Square

(Previous Winner: Thompson Square)


Musical Event of the Year

“Boys ‘Round Here” – Blake Shelton (feat. Pistol Annies)

“Cruise” – Florida Georgia Line (feat. Nelly)

“Don’t Rush” – Kelly Clarkson (feat. Vince Gill)

“Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw (feat. Taylor Swift & Keith Urban)

“The Only Way I Know” – Jason Aldean (feat. Luke Bryan & Eric Church)

(Previous Winner: “Feel Like a Rockstar” – Kenny Chesney & Tim McGraw)


Music Video of the Year

“Blown Away” – Carrie Underwood

“Boys ‘Round Here” – Blake Shelton

“Downtown” – Lady Antebellum

“Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw feat. Taylor Swift & Keith Urban

“Mama’s Broken Heart” – Miranda Lambert

“Tornado” – Little Big Town

(Previous Winner: “Red Solo Cup” – Toby Keith)


New Artist of the Year

Lee Brice

Florida Georgia Line

Kacey Musgraves

Brett Elderidge

Kip Moore

(Previous Winner: Hunter Hayes)